Council Member Elect Dwight Boykins Begins Transition into City Hall

For Immediate Release

December 16, 2013 – (HOUSTON, TX)- The citizens of District D unanimously elected Dwight Boykins to Houston City Council.

The Boykins2013 team would like to thank all community and civic leaders, elected officials and most importantly the citizens for supporting the Boykins2013 campaign and for their commitment to moving District D forward.

As the team begins building the District D office, Dwight Boykins has put together a group of 25 individuals for his transition committee. This committee is comprised of respected leaders from the community aiming to bring new and fresh ideas to District D.

“I look forward to serving as your new City Council Member for District D,” said Council Member Elect Dwight Boykins. “I am committed to finding solutions to support the housing industry, creating jobs, improving infrastructure, and ensuring District D is the best district in the city to live.”

For more information on Dwight Boykins, his plans for the district and the transition committee, please visit


Below is a List of the Transition Committee

Francis Cook, Chair

Dorothy Booker, Vice Chair

Robin Allen, BFFA

Carol Blue, University of Houston

Willie Bell Boone, Sunnyside Community Liaison

Jew Don Boney, former District D Council Member

Kavan Brewster, Business

Pauline Brown, Macgregor Palm Terrace Civic Club

Janice Carter, Representative of Gulf Meadows Community

Dr. Peggy Engram, Educator

Dr. Charlene Evans, Texas Southern University

Maria Flinkinger, Representative of South Belt Ellington Community

Cecilia Fontenot, Texas Organizing Project

Dr. Charles Herbert, Representative of Sunnyside Community and Educator

Jonathan Howard

Courtney Rose Johnson, Houston Association of Realtors

Eric Johnson, Representative of South Union Community

Rodney Jones, Sunnyside Community Liaison

Lynn Lewis, Representative of South Park Community

Rene Logan, Business

Sean Murphy- Representative of Museum District Community

James “Smokie” Phillips, Pct. 7 Constable Office

H.O.P.E Representative

Tracy Richardson, HBPOA

Mary Roberts, Representative of South Park Community

Serita Scarborough, former District D Chief of Staff

La Tanya Walker, Business

Patricia Wycliff, Representative of University Oaks Community